गुरु घासीदास विश्‍वविद्यालय, बिलासपुर

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur

A Central University established by the Central Universities Act 2009 No. 25 of 2009

About Department of Political Science & Public Administration

The Department of Political Science was established in 1987 and is now the combined strength of students in UG, PG, and Ph.D. courses have exceeded 300. The teaching programmes are based on a comprehensive social science approach that integrates other streams like Economics, History, and Anthropology, and several other subjects. With the implementation of the New Education Policy, a plethora of options are given to students to choose elective papers from different streams of their choice. The courses we offer are tailor made to cater to the heterogeneous student choices. The department has also started ability enhancement courses from the first year,  a much needed step to enhance the employment opportunities for the students. With the help of leading edge teaching aids and integration of 21st century technologies into teaching learning processes, like smart classrooms, we promote interactive two-way learning and blended mode of learning. 

Our aim is to detour from the conventional stations of eurocentric thoughts and inculcate a far-reaching comparative approach keeping in mind the Indian reality in focus. Thus, we offer extensive research in untapped dimensions of comparative politics, Indian government and politics, and special focus is also given to multidisciplinary courses like Gender Studies, and Human Rights studies. Our department has successfully collaborated with established national and international organizations that include, Centre for Studies of Developing Societies, New Delhi; University Grants Commission, New Delhi. Kings College London Univesity.

To provide ample opportunities for the holistic development of the students, the Political Science Department offers a variety of extra co-curricular activities. Defying the boundaries of rote learning we diverge in an empiricist approach, which believes in learning from doing. We have organised various programmes like Constitution Day celebration, Women's Day celebration, "Paridishya"- a discussion club and "Mukhtalif"- an interactive sessions with renowned lyricist and an Electoral Literacy festival.

Important Link

S.No.TitleUpload DateFile
1 CG Vyapam Appointment letter Omkar Prasad (17.08.2917) 01-07-2022
2 CG PSC Result_Siddharth Chauhan 30-06-2022
3 VET MA Political science_2017-18 30-06-2022
4 VET BA Political science_2017-18 30-06-2022
5 NET Certificate BUDDHDEV MANDAL Session 2020-21 29-06-2022
6 NET Certificate Ramchandra Bagarthy, Ph.D. 2022 29-06-2022
7 NET Certificate Shankar Lal Mathur Session 2018-19 29-06-2022
8 2020-21 Admitted List against Reserved Category (29.06.2022) 29-06-2022
9 2019-20 Admitted List against Reserved Category (29.06.2022) 29-06-2022
10 2018-19 Admitted List against Reserved Category (29.06.2022) 29-06-2022
11 2017-18 Admitted List against Reserved Category (29.06.2022) 29-06-2022
12 2016-17-Admitted List against Reserved category (29.06.2022) 29-06-2022
13 CGPSC Result for Assistant Professor 2019-20 28-06-2022
14 National Fellowship for OBC Certificate Deepak Kashyap Session 2019-20 28-06-2022
15 NET Certificate AKHILESH UIKEY Session 2020-21 28-06-2022
16 SET Certificate JYOTI PRABHAT Session 2019-20 28-06-2022
17 NET Certificate SUMITRA NAIK Session 2019-20 28-06-2022
18 NET Certificate DEEPAK KASHYAP Session 2019-20 28-06-2022
19 SET Certificate SIDDHARTH DESHMUKH Session 2018-19 28-06-2022
20 SET Certificate SAMEER JANGDE Session 2018-19 28-06-2022
21 SET Certificate BHANU PRATAP SINGH Session 2018-19 28-06-2022
22 SET Certificate AKHILESH UIKEY Session 2018-19 28-06-2022
23 Students Achievements 19-04-2022
24 Notable Alums since 2009 onwards 19-04-2022
25 Teachers Achievements 17-04-2022
26 UG & PG Political Science Admission List Session 2020-21 (02/11/2020) 02-11-2020
27 UG, PG & Pre Ph.D. Political Science Admission List Session 2019-20 (23/07/2019) 23-07-2019
28 UG, PG & Pre Ph.D. Political Science Admission List Session 2018-19 (31/07/2018) 31-07-2018
29 UG & PG Political Science Admission List Session 2017-18 (15/07/2017) 15-07-2017
30 UG & PG Political Science Admitted list Session 2016-17 (19/07/2016) 19-07-2016

Other Links

S.No.TitleUpload DateFile
1 Joining letter Dr. Nahid Hasan (27-09-2019) 23-06-2022
2 Joining Letter Dr. Santwana Pandey (02-06.-2012) 23-06-2022
3 Joining Letter Prof. Anupama Saxena (11-10-1988) 23-06-2022
4 Appointment Letter Prof. Anupama Saxena (11-10-1988) 23-06-2022
5 Joining Letter Dr. Ram Babu (27.09.2019) 27-09-2019
6 Appointment Letter Dr. Nahid Hasan (09-08-2019) 09-08-2019
7 Appointment Letter Dr. Ram Babu (09.08.2019) 09-08-2019
8 Joining Letter Dr. A N Panda (13.02.2013) 13-02-2013
9 Appointment Letter Dr. A N Panda 15-12-2012
10 Appointment Letter Dr. Santwana Pandey (15.02.2012) 15-02-2012