गुरु घासीदास विश्‍वविद्यालय, बिलासपुर

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur

A Central University established by the Central University Act 2009 No. 25 of 2009

About Department of Management

Responding to the changing and increasing needs for professional education and training in Management, the Department of Management Studies was established in 1988. The Department prepares students to become effective managers in the new economic era, and the emphasis is always on quality education and promoting a culture of enquiry and enterprise.

The Vision : The Department strives to carve out a niche for itself to be amongst the leading management schools in India. Students have successfully been educated and trained by the Department and have been placed in reputed business houses in India and abroad, in the fields of banking and finance, marketing, general management, and academics. Many are successfully managing their own business establishments.

Courses offered : The Department offers two programmes namely the Master of Business Administration and the Doctoral Research in Management. The Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a two-year Full-Time programme. Admission to the MBA program is done through Score of CMAT examination conducted by National Testing Agency (NTA), New Delhi and as per Govt. of India rules. Admission into the Doctoral Research in Management programme is done through the score in the Vishwaavidyalaya Research Entranace Test (VRET) and the the PhD regulations of the University.

Objectives of the program are: :

  • To train and develop students for careers in management.
  • To develop analytical, communicative and creative decision making skills to match the - requirements of modern competitive world.
  • To inculcate in the students values and attitudes necessary to become socially responsible managers.
  • To improve the managerial competence of practicing managers/executives.
  • To explore new horizons in various functional areas of management through research.


Infrastructure : The Department is housed in a spacious, beautifully constructed building. University's Central Library has a rich collection of reference books and journals on management. Students can also avail the facilities of Departmental library, which has up to date collection of text books. The computer centre in the Department is equipped to take care of the computational and informational need of the students. The Department has a state of the art conference hall to conduct guest lectures, conferences and other cultural activities.

Academic contribution of the faculty members during the last five years :

  • Prof. S.V.S. Chauhan, Prof. Harish Kumar, Prof. L.P. Pateriya and Dr. B.D. Mishra, acted as a resource person and delivered lectures in the Refresher Course and Orientation programme conducted by UGC HRD Centre, GGV, Bilaspur. Moreover, they chaired the technical sessions as Chairperson in the different International and National Conferences.
  • Prof. S.V.S. Chauhan and Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar visited various Institutes as a member coordinator of NAAC peer team during the last five years.
  • Dr. B.D. Mishra was the Convenor, Dr. (Mrs.) B.B. Pandey was the Organizing Secretary and Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar, Prof. Dr. S.V.S. Chauhan and Prof. Dr. L.P. Pateriya were the members of the Advisory Committee of the two days National Seminar organized by the department on 16th & 17th Nov, 2017 on the topic �Development of Tourism Industry in India: Issues & Challenges� which was sponsored by Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, New Delhi.
  • Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar, Prof. Dr. S.V.S. Chauhan, Prof. Dr. L.P. Pateriya chaired the technical sessions as Chairperson in the International Conference on Bharat Rejuvenation: From Glorious Past to Modern Era, organized by GGV, Bilaspur.
  • Dr. B.D. Mishra delivered a lecture at Chhattisgarh Judicial Academy, Bilaspur and presided the technical session as well as presented a paper at International Symposium on Infrastructure Financing at IIT Karaghpur. He chaired a session at the National seminar on Challenges for Quality of Life of Working Women in Contemporary India, organized by the Dept. of Social Work, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur and delivered a lecture as a Resource person at the National Seminar on �Resurgent Rural India: The Paradigm Shift�, organized by Department of Commerce, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Odisha. He also acted as a Coordinator of Refresher Course on Economics organized by HRD Centre, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur.
  • Dr. L.P. Pateriya as a Chief Election Commissioner successfully conducted the Student�s Council Election in the university.
  • Dr. (Mrs.) BB Pandey co-chaired a session in a seminar organized by the Department of Social Work, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur.
  • During the last five years the faculties of the department have published 51 papers in different national and international journals and participated in 40 National/International Conferences/Seminars.

Achievement of the Students :During the last five years the students of the department participated in Campus Placement conducted by different companies like Ways2Capital, Indore, ICICI Prudential, Raipur, Renault, Bilaspur, Genpact, Delhi, ICICI Life Insurance, Karvy Stock Broking Pvt. Ltd. Hyderabad, C Core Technologies, Lucknow, Capital Height, Fullerton India Credit, HDFC Bank, Shriram Motor Finance, Bharti Airtel, Bajaj Allianz, Narmada Drinks Pvt. Ltd., Micro Housing Finance Corporation, Ultra Tech, etc. and a total of 78 students have been successfully placed. Placement detail is enclosed.

Placement Detail

S.No. Year Total No. of Students Placed Total No. of Company Visited
01 2015-16 16 05
02 2016-17 08 01
03 2017-18 33 07
04 2018-19 21 04

Future Plans :

The Department plans to open new specialisations in the area of international business and Systems management with the availability of new faculty. The Department is in the process of strengthening industry � institute relationships through signing memorandum of understanding (MoUs) with different industry houses.

Important Link

S.No.TitleUpload DateFile
1 Webinar Summary Report 12-01-2022
2 Webinar Summary Report on Systematic Approach to Publications in Quality Journals 06-12-2021
3 Webinar Summary Report 06-12-2021
4 Webinar Summary Report 06-12-2021
5 Mentor Mentee 24-11-2021
6 Extension of approval letters received from AICTE for the academic year 2010-11 & 2013-14
7 MBA Programe Course Outcome
8 Project Internship
9 Minutes (DMS)
10 List of Subjects (DMS)
11 Handbook 2020-21